Public Health England

Public Health England protect and improve the nation’s health and wellbeing, and reduce health inequalities.

They are responsible for:

  • making the public healthier by encouraging discussions, advising government and supporting action by local government, the NHS and other people and organisations
  • supporting the public so they can protect and improve their own health
  • protecting the nation’s health through the national health protection service, and preparing for public health emergencies
  • sharing our information and expertise with local authorities, industry and the NHS, to help them make improvements in the public’s health
  • researching, collecting and analysing data to improve our understanding of health and come up with answers to public health problems
  • reporting on improvements in the public’s health so everyone can understand the challenge and the next steps
  • helping local authorities and the NHS to develop the public health system and its specialist workforce

The Greater Manchester Public Health Network

The Greater Manchester Public Health Network (GMPHN) is a collaborative organisation that supports the 10 Greater Manchester (GM) Directors of Public Health to deliver improved health outcomes for the people who live and work in the city-region.

GMPHN facilitates collaboration across the 10 GM local authorities and engagement with key partners to secure changes at local, regional or national level that could not be achieved by working individually.

GMPHN’s Annual Business Plan ensures alignment with new ways of working emerging from Health and Social Care Devolution and the creation of a Unified Single Leadership System for Public Health in GM. Through this Business Plan, GMPHN provides:

  • Additional support and capacity to GM Public Health teams.
  • Establishment and management of GM programmes of work – accountable to a lead Director of Public Health.

European Union

The EU is a unique economic and political partnership between 28 European countries that together cover much of the continent.

The EU was created in the aftermath of the Second World War. The first steps were to foster economic cooperation: the idea being that countries who trade with one another become economically interdependent and so more likely to avoid conflict.

The result was the European Economic Community (EEC), created in 1958, and initially increasing economic cooperation between six countries: Belgium, Germany, France, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands. Since then, a huge single market has been created and continues to develop towards its full potential.

Supported by: